Questival

Phew! I think I’m finally recovered from Thursday’s Questival, which I thought was supposed to be a day to celebrate the happiest company on the planet’s 16th birthday. Unfortunately for me, I had Fred on my team and, as does happen from time-to-time, Fred transformed into a Nic Cage character. This time I should’ve seen it coming – Benjamin Franklin Gates from National Treasure.

Instead of performing any number of fun, zany quests, I found myself racing all across the silver state looking for “the national treasure”. Fred couldn’t stop rambling on and on about Freemasons, ancient Egyptian artifacts, cryptic messages imprinted on zollars, Chef Boyarbistro possibly being a double-agent, etc. It was pure madness. At one point, Fred and I were in a downtown Las Vegas sewer.National Treasure torch I pointed out that this seemed more like a scene from Indiana Jones than National Treasure. He shrugged his shoulders and proceeded to light a torch. If you think #DTLV is scary above ground, try going underneath it. Once we hit a dead end, Fred looked lost and defeated for a moment, but snapped out of it with a, “Eureka!” He zoomed back to the manhole with me in tow. I asked him what the latest revelation was and he said, “The constitution! We need to get the constitution!” I was along for the ride up to this point, but I’m not jetting cross country to the nation’s capitol in order to try to steal the constitution. We climb out of the sewer and are surrounded by the Fremont Experience, which is every bit as scary during daylight hours as it is at night. I’m greeted by one of the old dudes in a mankini. I have my phone out, desperately trying to send out a bat signal, and the old guy demands I pay him for a pic. I throw a 20 zollar bill in his general direction and bolt with Fred back to Zappos HQ. Once there, I stopped Fred and told him I can’t go to Washington D.C. with him. He had the puzzled look on his face.

Fred and me running through DTLV

Fred running through #DTLV with me in hot pursuit. It’s #DTLV – pigeons.

“D.C.? We’re not going to D.C. little buddy. We’re going up to Monkey Row.” Fred announced, as we entered the Zappos plaza. He took a rope out of his pack and lassoed a rail on the second floor. He insisted we go up the rope since no one is supposed to enter the building during the Questival. I shrugged my shoulders, climbed on his back and went up the rope like a spider monkey. Fred followed, looking more like a giraffe than a primate. We got to Monkey Row and Fred scavenged the area until he found a copy of the sacred text – the Holacracy Constitution. Why didn’t I think of that? Of course, it was all making sense. Holacracy unlocks the potential of decihumans, why wouldn’t it also hold the keys to lost treasures? I went from skeptic to true believer in about two seconds.

Fred, feeling the importance of the moment, looked like he was getting teary eyed and then proclaimed, “Of all the ideas that became Zappos, there’s a line here that’s at the heart of all the others. “But when a long train of abuses and usurpations, pursuing invariably the same object evinces a design to reduce them under absolute despotism, it is their right, it is their duty, to throw off such management, and provide new guards for their future security.”

Fred holding the Holacracy Constitution in his kung fu like grip

Fred holding tightly to the Holacracy Constitution

I had no idea what that meant, but it sounded super important, so I nodded my head in agreement. Fred had this look like he’d just done about a dozen lines of blow. He was hyped out of his mind. He started writing down letters, numbers and lines on a sheet of paper, while thumbing through the constitution. When he was done, the paper looked like an artifact from the set of A Beautiful Mind. Fred then insisted I grab two shovels and meet him in the backyard, which is on the way over to Chef Boyarbistro’s hangout.

I spent the next ten hours or so digging a hole to China with Fred. We didn’t find a national treasure, unless you count pigeon carcasses and old city of Las Vegas and mafia documents national treasures. At the end I tried to comfort Fred, who looked defeated. Fred climbed out of the hole we dug ourselves into, looked out into the sky, and defiantly announced, “If there’s something wrong, those who have the ability to take action have the responsibility to take action.”

And, just when I thought the day was a complete waste, I saw that our quest was really all about teal. I have the ability to take action AND the responsibility to take action. Thank you Fred for the reminder. It took a long time to get there, but I’m a better decihuman for it. #teal4life

Leave a Reply

