Leaders eat last

I’ve had Simon Sinek’s book, Leaders Eat Last, sitting around the airstream for quite a while. I finally read it and it is one of the best diet books I’ve read since Freddy’s, Reinventing Organizations. While Freddy’s book is all about corporate diets, Simon’s book is how leaders eat last and can lose massive amounts of weight in the process. Simon makes a lot of good suggestions about dieting, which leads to a lot of happiness, which I just happen to be all about delivering. Win-win.

Here are some of my favorite chapters along with my takeaways.

  1. Chapter 2: Employees Are People Too Actually, they’re decihumans. You can slice and dice them into 100 pieces. This is science. I’m not sure what this chapter had to do about dieting, but my takeaway is that if you let your decihumans eat first, they’ll likely pig out and there won’t be any food left for you; keeping your figure lean and mean.
     
  2. Chapter 5: When Enough Was Enough In this chapter Simon argues that in days gone by, leaders only needed to eat maybe two saltine crackers and a glass of water. Today, too many leaders feel the need to gorge themselves on feasts fit for a king. I took this one to heart and now only stock saltines in the airstream. I’m also having all the Zappos kitchens stocked with the same.
     
  3. Chapter 7: The Big C We all know what “C” stands for here – Chef. And not just any chef, but the one and only, Chef Boyarbistro! That guy has a way of keeping the pounds off you, whether intentional or not.
     
  4. Chapter 9: The Courage to Do the Right Thing A strong chapter inspired by Spike Lee’s monumental film, which had many scenes in or around a restaurant. Spoiler: The ending is a riot erupting outside the restaurant with the restaurant losing. The moral of the story is that sometimes you have to destroy a restaurant if you want to win the diet war. Look out Nacho Daddy, here I come.
     
  5. Chapter 12: The Boomers All Grown Up While older, Boomers are capable of eating more than their fair share, leaving less for you to munch on. Hiring Boomers can be a strategic weight loss technique few have thought of – until now. Thank you Simon.
     
  6. Leaders Eat Last

  7. Chapter 16: Imbalance A balanced diet is critical. My experiment with eating only Soylent didn’t go so well. Towards the end I was kind of hoping it was Soylent Green.
     
  8. Chapter 20: Leadership Lesson 4: Friends Matter You have to eat last and you need lots of friends to make this truly effective. This is part of why I moved into a trailer park. It ensures that I have many people in front of me in the line to eat whatever it is we’re roasting that evening over the community campfire.
     
  9. Hannibal Lecter cartChapter 23: At Any Expense You’ll likely get really hungry and want to cut to the front of the line. Don’t. Do whatever it takes to keep yourself behind everyone else in line for the meal. I went so far as to have the Buncher make me a Hannibal Lecter mask and cart me around in a straight jacket. Remember, at ANY expense.
     
  10. Chapter 25: Step 12 Taking a cue from AA, Simon argues that, “Having had a spiritual experience as the result of this course of action, we tried to carry this message to others, especially eat-firsters, and to practice these principles in all our affairs.” It’s not enough to be the only one eating last. Everyone must eat last. If everyone eats last, no one eats. World hunger spikes, yet also disappears all at once. I just blew my own mind.
     
  11. Chapter 26: Shared Struggle Don’t deny the struggle in being the last to eat – it is real and must be shared. This relates to Chapter 20. In fact, I think this was a copy/paste from Chapter 20, now that I think of it. Maybe Simon got paid by the word? If so, how do I get that deal on my next book?
     
Leave a Reply

