Hello world!

Please allow me to introduce myself. I deliver happiness. Don’t believe it? Read the book.

A long time ago I started a company called LinkExchange that was a little ahead of its time in regards to delivering happiness – via banner ads. I like to think of LinkExchange as the community garden of online advertising. After I sold that internet ad co-op to Bill Gates and friends, I looked around and realized I didn’t like most of the people I worked with. Who were these crackerjacks? Did I really hire that sleazy used car salesman and his shiny italian leather shoes? Speaking of shoes, that’s where I eventually landed next with an investment in Zappos. I invest in people, so it should come as no surprise that when the moment came to hire the most important position at the scrappy startup, I stepped up to the challenge and have never looked back. We sold lots of shoes, so many that Amazon came knocking and we eventually opened the door. Jeffrey made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. It’s been over five years since the acquisition and I’m pretty sure Jeffrey still doesn’t know how to pronounce my last name. Hsieh my name, Jeffrey.

Somewhere along the way I ended up in Vegas. It may have been the hot yoga sessions, reaching a higher state of consciousness, one too many raves, E, fumes from all that cash in my condo getting to me, or possibly a mix of all of the above. I’m not sure, but after the sale to Amazon I realized it was time to grow up. It’s one thing to have a multi-billion dollar business, but how many people can lay claim to an entire downtown of a major US city? Granted, owning downtown Las Vegas is a bit like saying you own the best looking 2005 Pontiac Aztek on the lot. Regardless, my Aztek would be tricked out and make the babies from the Bay jealous as they wondered why they were dropping $3K a month for a shanty town shack when they could live it up in my castle directly in the heart of a burgeoning hipster’s paradise.

This is way too short to encompass even a tenth of who I am, but it’ll have to do for now. If you want more, follow this space. I like to think of it as my secret diary that’s not so secret. I’ll divulge nuggets of wisdom about many things I’ve never shared before. Need more in between now and then? Read the book.

Leave a Reply

